Election Commissioner


8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday (except for County Holidays and employee absences)


The Election Commissioner is located on the third floor, east end of hallway of the Platte County Courthouse building on 26th Avenue, 14th Street in Columbus NE








2610 14th Street
Columbus, NE 68601


Voter Registrations English

Voter Registrations Spanish

Early (absentee) Voting

Military and Overseas Voting

Your Voter Reg. & Polling Place

Polling Places

Voter Registration Breakdown

Election Calendar

Offices up for Election

Federal and State Filings

Poll-Workers Information

Contact Information for Fed. and State Elected Officials

Local Election Results

Connie J. Sebourn

Election Commissioner

The office of the Platte County Election Commissioner of Platte County is accepting applications to fill temporary office help. 3-5 months starting in July-and goes through November elections.  Office hours are 8-5 Monday-Friday.  Would train, doing various duties asked by the election commissioner and to assist with petition data entry, checking of signatures and assist with absentee ballet request.  Could be a temporary full time position or part time hours.

A registered voter of Platte County, live in Platte County, able to read and write the English Language, and ability work until November 3, (General) Elections.  Platte County is a drug free workplace.  All positions are subject to Veterans preference.  Any questions please call 402-563-4908 or stop by the Platte County Election Commissioner Office, 2610 14th Street, Courthouse, Columbus, NE 68601.


Early (Absentee) Ballot Application will be accepted for the 2020 General Election beginning on July 6, 2020. Then starting on September 28, 2020 is when the Early (Absentee) Ballots will start going out for the 2020 General Election .  Reminder to all voters that want to request an Early (Absentee) Ballot Application you must do an Early (Absentee) Ballot Application for each election in Platte County.

Press Release from Secretary of State Robert Evnen Regarding Nebraska Voters with Disabilities

Executive Order No. 20-16, Coronavirus - Elections


The Election Commissioner is responsible for maintaining all voter registration records and conduction all primary, general and special elections.  This office works in conjunction with the Nebraska Secretary of State’s office to ensure compliance with all state and federal election guidelines.

Mission Statement: 

To conduct elections fairly, impartially and legally…..and to maintain the Voter Registration and Election Records for Present and Future Use. 

Filing Information for 2020

To File or obtain information on filing for office

Contact the Platte County Election Commissioner.

  • Filing Forms available in this office.
  • Filing Fees to be paid in this office, with some exceptions.
  • NADC Statements of Financial Interest Forms available in this office.

A reminder to all candidates for the primary election, for an elective office specified in State Statue 49-1493, any candidate who fails to file a statement of financial interests with the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission on or before this date of March 9, 2020 shall not appear on the primary election ballot. State Statue 49-1494.
Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure C-1 Form

County & local filings
State and Federal Filings - “Candidates for the _____” (desired election)

Delegate to a County Convention Registration Form


Election Notices