History of the Platte County, Nebraska Election Commissioner's Office

1975 Carl Hoge is the Platte County Clerk. He planned to retire after his term ended in 1974. At that time the County Clerk was also the Election Commissioner. Before he resigns, the County Board creates a separate office for the Platte County Election Commissioner in 1974.

Shirley Wilken was appointed as the **First Platte County Election Commissioner** on 3/1/1974. Shirley took care of the 1974 Elections, with the assistance of Carl Hoge.

Carl Hoge does not file for Platte County Clerk for the 1974 Election Cycle. Dorothy Kryiss was Carl Hoge's Deputy Clerk at that time. Dorothy filed for the Republican Candidate for the office of Platte County Clerk in 1974. Milton Langan filed for the Democratic Candidate for the Platte County Clerk.

General Election Results:

Platte County Clerk	
Milton Langan (Democratic)	4500 (Elected)
Dorothy Kryiss (Republican)	3932

Dorothy Kryiss resigns her job in the County Clerk's Office.

Platte County Election Commissioner **Shirley Wilkens** dies on 12/20/1975. The Platte County Board appoints **Dorothy Kryiss** to fill out rest of Shirley Wilken's Term. Dorothy Kryiss does first Elections, with assistance of Carl Hoge and wife.

Dorothy Kryiss is the Platte County Election Commissioner from 2/1/1976 through 3/31/1996. Dorothy resigns and the County Board appoints **Diane M. Olmer** to be Platte County Election Commissioner on 4/1/1996 through 6/30/2019 when she retired.

Martha Aerni was the Clerk of the Election Commissioner's Office for Shirley Wilken, Dorothy Kryiss and Diane Olmer. Martha Aerni worked in the Platte County Election Commissioner's Office from 7/16/1975 through 12/31/2016.

Linda Davis was hired as Martha Aerni's replacement as Clerk of the Election Commissioner's Office on 11/1/2016 and retired on May 1, 2020. **Leisa Carnahan** was hired to be Linda Davis replacement on March 9, 2020 and still is the current Office Assistant to the Platte County Election Commissioner.

Connie J. Sebourn started to train for the Platte County Election Commissioner's Position on 6/3/2019. Connie Sebourn was appointed by the Platte County Board to fill out the remaining term of Diane M. Olmer's term from 7/1/2019 through 1/4/2023.

Eryn Roberts was appointed in August of 2022 to complete the 2018-2022 term and and the following through 2026. Connie Sebourn continued to serve as Clerk to the Commissioner.

Information from Martha Aerni memory and Platte County Election Records Book.